Taiwan: A Taiwanese 9-11? Update

With an update at the end.

Yesterday, CNA wrote:

[…]

Ex-president Chen Shui-bian and his wife Wu Shu-jen were both given life sentences and fined NT$200 million (US$6.13 million) and NT$300 million respectively after being found guilty by the Taipei District Court Friday on corruption, forgery and money-laundering charges.

[…]

More details about all the convicted people and their sentences HERE.

In case you didn’t follow these legal cases and/or forget their context, Michael Turton published this morning a very good post with statements from Dr. Michael Stainton, (President of the Taiwanese Human Rights Association of Canada), the DPP and the FAPA.

All these statements provide a quite complete picture of the situation.

Very interesting.

From outside, it is quite easy to understand why people feel so perplexed.

When Ma Ying-jeou (the actual president and chairman of the KMT) was accused by the prosecutors of  misappropriation of his special allowance when he was Taipei mayor, the cases was handled by the same judge (Tsai Shou-Hsun) who sentenced yesterday the former president, but the verdicts he handed down yesterday were quite different: Chen was given a life sentence, while Ma was acquitted on graft charges in 2007.

Never Ma stayed in jail. But the former president, yes.

Elections will be hold later, all around Taiwan and more specifically, in Hualien.

One KMT candidate (I don’t know if he changed his mind or not) [see HERE], has some “legal dispute”:

[…]

Fu was indicted on Feb. 2, 2000, for illegally speculating in Taiwan Pineapple Group stock in 1998.
In 2003, the Taipei District Court sentenced Fu to six years in jail, fined him NT$150 million (US$4.5 million) and deprived him of his civil rights for four years.

Fu filed an appeal with the Taiwan High Court and on June 11 the high court sentenced Fu to four years in jail and a fine of NT$20 million.

Fu appealed again.

[…]

We are not talking about a small amount.

As far as I know, Fu did not stay in jail. But Chen yes.

Beside, the local chapter of the KMT considered that he still could run the elections…

I do not remember the details but in another case,  Soong, the chairman of the PFP party (ally of the KMT) was convicted few years ago about a case concerning more (?) than 200 millions of USD (not TWD…).

As far as I know, he was just sentenced to pay taxes on it. That’s all.

Soong didn’t stay in jail. Chen yes.

As in the statement from Dr Stainton about the former president Chen Shui-Bian:

Guilty by verdict, but not by evidence.

Yesterday was September 11.

Does this date rings any bell?

Will the yesterday events change anything?

********UPDATE********

Following one comment, I realized that the title and conclusion of this post could be misleading.

When I mentioned the 9/11 event, I was not of course implying that Taiwanese should do here the same that terrorists did in New York, killing thousands of people, destroying families for ever.

Of course not!

I was thinking about how American (and others) started to react following the 9/11 tragedy, by changing their way of thinking and trying to change things too, to avoid that this tragedy could even occur again.

According my understanding, it was a large and vast move, among people.

Maybe the Obama effect is one of these moves.

I am against violence. It must be very clear.

To be more clear, I was in my post, suggesting that after the yesterday court decision, maybe people will start a vast move in view to react, as it was the case after the tragedy I mentioned above.

Or maybe people won’t.

But I deeply believe in democracy and the only one way a large move could occur is through elections.

Obviously, I should be more cautious and precise in my writing and I will in the future.

If I hurt someone, I deeply apologize.

 

 

Mots clés Technorati : ,,,,
3 Responses

  1. Yes, yesterday was 911. Yes it rings a bell. So with that statement we are meant to assume that the DPP will respond by crashing a plane into the 101 building? Oh, there’s no nursery and pre-school in the 101, so they’d need to find one and run a van filled with explosives into it…so long as the tally is ~3000 children, women, and men dead by a violent, pre-planned act whose goal was simply to cause fear.

    Seriously?

    I don’t agree with the verdict, either but I’m also left a bit staggered by your statement above.

    Seriously.

    That’s as bad as referring to someone you don’t like as “Hitler” (which seems to be commonplace nowadays), forgetting that the guy systematically exterminated 6 million people.

  2. @ Brian
    Thanks a lot for your comment.
    Thanks to you, I realized that what I wrote could be misunderstood.
    I put right away an update.
    Sorry for the misunderstanding.

  3. My apologies…shortly after writing that, and right after I hopped in a taxi with my kids, I realized that I probably took it the wrong way.

    But I do have one comment that might apply:

    9/11 caused an almost instantanious social polar shift. I mean, yes it led to a war, but the “extreme social right turn” that it caused led to us (I’m American) willingly giving up some of our rights in exchange for “security”, a second and unnecessary war, and the extreme partisan climate in the US right now.

    In Taiwan, there is an extreme partisan climate, but it existed long before Chen was charged with anything. As for the other things (i.e. an immediate social change so great that Taiwanese would be willing to agree to an extreme ideology), I don’t see it.

    Do you understand what I mean?

Leave a Reply

