Taiwan: Some Jokes Are Not Funny At All

I wrote last November (HERE), explaining why I did not believe the government’s forecast of a 0.64% GDP increase because the vouchers.

Today, an economic official indicated that the result will be between 0.3 and 0.5%.

Do you remember that last year, Hu Chung-ying, deputy minister for the Council for Economic Planning and Development (CEPD), promised to resign if the vouchers’ impact on the GDP is lower than 0.66%?

Do you really think he will step down?

Maybe he was just joking as M. Ma, yesterday:

[…]

… (during a visit to a temporary shelter for the displaced victims of Typhoon Morakot in Chiayi County yesterday).

The incident started when an Aborginal typhoon survivor interrupted Ma’s speech.

Holding up a banner, the woman stood up in the audience and appealed to Ma, shouting: “Mr President, please save us.”

In response, Ma said: “Let me finish talking, then [I will come back and] save you.”

After Ma finished his speech, Ma turned to the woman and said: “Okay, now let us save you.”

[…]

Pathetic…

 

Mots clés Technorati : ,,,,
One Response

  1. I agree, not funny at all and rather insensitive. Ma’s humor, indifference, lack of humility, lack of accountability, lack of humanity and incompetence leave me cold. I really question his intelligence. Intelligence often dictates, “That when in doubt, don’t!” That is presuming that Ma has the intelligence and discretion to make competent decisions like that. I wonder.

    In the meantime, I would suggest to Ma the following humorous twist from the illustrious Samuel Clemens (Mark Twain), “It is better to have people think you a fool, than to open your mouth and remove all doubt.”

    Do I think that Hu will step down? Probably not.

    Will Ma step down? I doubt it.

    PM Liu has stepped down. What do I think? Not much. I consider it window-dressing or falling on his sword or taking one for the Prez.

    Ma is president. And I subscribe to Harry Truman’s dictum regarding his own presidency, “The buck stops here!” So what are you going to do, Ma? Right now you are making Shrub (George W. Bush) look good. You have trumped his mishandling of Katrina with your ineptitude and uncaring on Morakot. I never thought that this was possible. As the comic character Bullwinkle would say, “WassaMattaU?”

Leave a Reply

