Taiwan: Buddhism Joining Politics?

I got the news concerning the World Buddhist Forum about 2 days ago.

Words are failing me…

I waited a while, to avoid to write something too… Arrgghh!

Several Taiwanese Buddhist monks are working now with the CCP, with China… mixing their practice with Chinese politics…

And now, according the master of Fo Guang Shan, there are no Taiwanese in Taiwan (even after the recent DNA study?).

     

Picture from today’s Taipei Times

“We are all Chinese”…

How come he could say that?

How come he could be part of this Chinese political game?

Sure, he is a Master but first at all, a man. A man who came from China.

A man who accepted to participate to a Chinese forum which rejected the coming of the Dalai Lama.

A man who accept the Chinese game, a game from a country which decides by law how Religion is supposed to work…

A man who plays with a country where the masters of temples are named by the Party…

A man who accepted the two-legs forum (China and Taiwan) to let the people feel about unification…

A man who said that in China and Taiwan, all are brothers and sisters.

…With China spying, with China and its missiles on Taiwan…

A man who gave weight to Chinese policies…

I do not understand.

I did not know Buddhism was mixed with politics…

But maybe I am wrong.

Maybe I am wrong since more than 15 years… Since I became Buddhist, studying Tibetan and Chan Schools.

But no all Buddhist are playing this game.

But no all Taiwanese Masters are playing the China’s game.

But as I suppose, many like me, do not mix up Buddhism and politics.

If some want to play like that, that will be their business…

Still, I feel very shocked.

As I wrote above, words are failing me…

😦

 

 

